View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently September 1st, 2014, 6:12 am



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
DESA LDL3924PR Gas Log Remote Issue 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 9:41 am
Posts: 6
Location: Northern VA
I have the DESA LDL3924PR gas log set with the accompanying remote and receiver. In the last day or so, the remote has stopped working. If I put the receiver on Manual, the logs will turn on, but when on Auto it will not take input from the remote. I also noticed that the remote does not give the beep indicator now when turning it on or off. The remote does power up though, but there is no beep and the logs do not respond. I have replaced the batteries in the remote and the receiver to no avail.

I remember a few years ago that the DESA Tech CSR told me how to reset the remote after I had replaced batteries and that did the trick back then. Does anyone here remember how to do that?

The remote and receiver are part #'s 111442-02 and 111441-02, respectively. The remote is listed as being Transmitter Unit FRC 0.584.004.

Any help would be greatly appreciated? The thought of paying $200+ for a new remote and/or receiver for a set of 7 year old logs is a little disheartening.

Thanks,
Merg


February 2nd, 2011, 9:58 am
Profile

Joined: February 4th, 2011, 2:56 pm
Posts: 1
Select the "clock" or "stopwatch" icon on the left side of the screen.
Press the - (Minus) key 10 times slowly.
You will see a 3 digit code. This should read 005.
If it does not read 005 change it using the up or down key.
When you are done press the - (Minus) key to return.
Do not press the + (Plus) key while in the secondary screen or you will turn your remote to Celsius reading.


February 4th, 2011, 3:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 9:41 am
Posts: 6
Location: Northern VA
I'll give it a try tonight when I get home.

Thanks!

- Merg


February 4th, 2011, 4:13 pm
Profile

Joined: January 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm
Posts: 155
You also want to make sure the DIP switches are in the correct position on the receiver.

1 and 3 up and all of the rest in the down position.


February 4th, 2011, 9:47 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 9:41 am
Posts: 6
Location: Northern VA
MACMS wrote:
You also want to make sure the DIP switches are in the correct position on the receiver.

1 and 3 up and all of the rest in the down position.


They are like that. That hasn't changed. Will be home in about an hour and will try the remote reset procedure then.

- Merg


February 4th, 2011, 11:55 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 9:41 am
Posts: 6
Location: Northern VA
Okay... This is strange...

I get home, pick up the remote, and turn it on to begin the reprogram process and the fireplace turns on. I go an look at the receiver and notice that all the dipswitches are in the down position (not how I left it-maybe the wife was playing around with it?). I put switches 1 and 3 in the up position and all of a sudden the remote stops working again. I put switches 1 and 3 back down and the remote works fine. I can turn it on and off and adjust the flame height.

Not sure why it's working that way all of a sudden, but that's fine with me.

Anyone else have an explanation?

- Merg


February 5th, 2011, 3:00 am
Profile

Joined: January 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm
Posts: 155
There are 128 programs in the remote and your may have something other than the original program.

Where are the dip switch settings?


February 6th, 2011, 8:21 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 9:41 am
Posts: 6
Location: Northern VA
They were originally set with 1 and 3 up and the rest down. They are now all down. My wife wanted to manually turn the fireplace on and had moved 1 and 3 down in an attempt to do that. She then found the actual switch to do it.

Is it possible the remote got reset to another program and my wife just managed to find it?

- Merg


February 6th, 2011, 11:30 am
Profile

Joined: January 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm
Posts: 155
Well anything is possible...If it's not broken lets not try to fix it...


February 9th, 2011, 8:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: February 2nd, 2011, 9:41 am
Posts: 6
Location: Northern VA
Sounds fine to me. :lol:

- Merg


February 10th, 2011, 12:27 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP